The Kentucky Journey

We are newlyweds who moved across the country, and are enjoying life in a place we never thought we'd be…Kentucky.

Why do I Work with Kids? February 6, 2010

Filed under: teaching — abbybernd @ 3:28 am
Tags:

For some reason I have always to be drawn to jobs where I take care of kids. Babysitting, teaching, nannying- I’ve done it all.  I often wonder why.

Right now, I am a preschool teacher for four year olds and it is difficult. I have days where I have just lost my patience. I have said use your listening ears, use your nice hands, and use your quiet voices- one too many times. I get to a point where I don’t know what to do.  I don’t know how to make the kids listen to me and I get frustrated.

I have always enjoyed the sweetness of children, but being around lots of children every day makes you forget how wonderful they can be. Sometimes you can only see the bad.

The kids I work with are mostly on state subsidized daycare and preschool programs. Many of them have been through a lot and consequently act up frequently. It tests my patience and I often fail.

Then I try to remind myself why I am working with these kids in the first place…

I am trying to be a positive influence in these kids lives, and I am trying to get them ready for kindergarten. I introduce them to letters and reading. I really try to help and that is why I am there.

I genuinely enjoy being around them and helping them. They make me laugh and are adorable.

All and all I am learning the obvious fact that kids don’t always behave perfectly. They have their tough, very tough in some cases, moments.  They also have their wonderfully sweet moments. They have the days where they write a prefect letter C or sit still and listen to stories, and it makes it all worth it.

Working with kids isn’t always easy, but it is rewarding. It is my life, and I guess all and all I love it.

 

Leave a Reply

