The Kentucky Journey

We are newlyweds who moved across the country, and are enjoying life in a place we never thought we'd be…Kentucky.

Spoiler Alert! My Review of Crazy Heart March 7, 2010

Filed under: Crazy Heart — abbybernd @ 3:01 pm
Tags:

A musician with an alcohol or drug problem. We see it all of the time in movies. Walk the line,  Ray,  and now Crazy Heart.

Crazy Heart is different. It focuses on the character, “Bad Blake,” in the current times not on flash backs. Many of these type of movies have flash back after flash back. Crazy Heart focuses on the present on how a relationship changes this very troubled washed up country star.

It is a positive movie. Bad goes through a lot of hard things and through it all he is resilient,  although he does have his whiskey bottle to help him. The journey Bad follows is tough but it is a positive one, and I appreciate that in a movie.

This movie is real. You see Bad’s pain and his addiction and you see him grow. I always like that in a movie, when a character changes and becomes a better person. You see this in Gran Torino, an absolutely amazing movie.

It made me look at my life and first of all be thankful that I don’t have addictions. I get made at my husband Chris’ drink or two of whiskey, but he doesn’t have anything on Bad Blake! It also made me look at life and think what I am passionate about? Bad is an amazing musician. What do I have to offer?

Oh the music in Crazy Heart.  It will keep your foot tapping the whole movie. And who from my generation knew Jeff Bridges could sing? I definitely walked away respecting Bridges so much as an actor. His performance was gritty and amazing.

The backdrop of this movie is New Mexico, and I now really want to go there! The buttes and hills were depicted beautifully. Through out the movie the sky is  purple or pink – gorgeous!

All and all I learned so much from this movie, and I throughly enjoyed myself. I didn’t want the movie to end, which does not happen to me very often!  It was just a beautiful film that is a definite must to watch.

Jemez Pueblo, New Mexico Photos

 

One Response to “Spoiler Alert! My Review of Crazy Heart”

  1. Kristin Says:

    Great review! I like to see what people think about movies. This one looks so good and I can’t wait to see the movie!


Leave a Reply

