The Kentucky Journey

We are newlyweds who moved across the country, and are enjoying life in a place we never thought we'd be…Kentucky.

July 19, 2009

Filed under: grief,Uncategorized — abbybernd @ 10:34 pm
Tags:

Saturday was quite a day. We went to the “Kentucky Rockies.” They were beautiful, but no colorado rockies! All of the mountains were covered with deciduous trees. I am sure it is gorgeous in the fall, with the orange, red and yellow leaves taking over the hills. We will have to come back in October to see the beautiful colors for ourselves.

The whole time we were driving and looking at beautiful scenery, my head was somewhere else. We got Dominic’s ashes in the mail earlier that day. And the sadness I had when we recieved the ashes stayed with me all day. I stayed in my head during the drive and hike we went on. I felt angry, sad and a little sick to my stomach.

I went to bed early, still filled with emotions. I slept soundly. All of my feelings through out the day exhausted me. This morning I woke up refreshed.

The ashes are in a wood box on our mantle. I get sad when I glance at the box, but that won’t change. Something horrible happenend, I have every right to be sad! I am just glad I can still enjoy the beauty of life… be that the Kentucky Rockies, my sleeping puppy or old photographs. There are so many things to smile about!

 

2 Responses to “”

  1. Kristin Says:

    I’m also sad about Dominic. I can’t imagine how sad YOU are, but i’m glad u are letting yourself feel what you need to, and that u are still able to look at the positive. Thats an incredible trait to have

  2. abbybernd Says:

    awww. thanks. I am just trying to be positive because life goes on. You are a very positive person too.


Leave a comment